Finally, a new drawing!

Now that I’m back and finally settled in Calgary, I’ll try my best to post more often. So here’s a sketch that I did when I was in Rankin.

I never had the chance to finish it because of the move but I believe the model was from a Seventeen magazine, I’m not too sure.  I no longer have the reference photo of this model so I don’t think I’ll be able to finish it any time soon.

I haven’t done a pencil drawing for about ten years now, pretty long time huh? But I must say I did pretty good job for a person who hasn’t done a one in a long time.

I drew her hair in the very low light while watching a movie, that’s why the hair doesn’t look very realistic.  I had to use a Q-tip to blend because I couldn’t find my blending tool at that time and a kneaded eraser to do the highlights on the face, lips, and parts of her hair.  If I had known that you could use an eraser to do highlilghts when I was younger I think drawing portraits would have been a lot easier.

Link: Glamour Magazine Website

3 thoughts on “Finally, a new drawing!

    • Hi Bobby,

      Actually, I’ve never gotten a chance to complete it. But I think I’ll probably just keep it how it is. I’m still a bit rusty with pencil portraits especially when it comes to drawing the hair but eventually with practice I’ll get a hang of it. =) Btw, I went on your website you got some great pencil portraits!

      Thank you for your comment.

      – Terri

Leave a comment